February Birchbox

I do love getting my new Birch Box.  I tried to resist renewing after a year of receiving them and managed to resist December’s box, but January looked just too tempting and now it’s February!

February Birchbox

Postcards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m kicking myself a little about my photos as I forgot to get my big group shot and now the box is all broken up.  Two bits are in my work bag; two are on my dresser at home and I’ve eaten the other one!

In the interests of ending on a high I’m going to start on a low.

Oats + Chia – Mixed Berry

Oats and ChiaIt’s not a good start that I’m not keen on berries, really.  I ate this two days ago for breakfast.  The oats were ok, the berries were very sharp, I’m still picking chia seeds from between my teeth and there are as many Weight Watchers points in this made with water as there are in a sachet of porridge made with milk.  Sorry, I wasn’t impressed.

TheBalm StainiacThe Balm Stainiac

I just don’t understand lipstains.  They feel dry and unnatural while offering uneven and poor colour.  This could be how I’m using them, I suppose, but I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong.

Liz Earle – Botanical Shine ShampooBotanical Shine Shampoo

I was a slow starter when it came to Liz Earle but I’m getting to love the Hot Cloth Cleanser which I keep in my work locker and use before I go into the shower.  I’m looking forward to seeing what the shampoo does, although I would have preferred to receive the conditioner too so I could test them both together.  This could be one for the work locker.

Bath Salt Scrub

London Butterflies – Bath Salt Scrub

I have yet to try this – with cycling to work and swimming at weekends I’m more of a shower person, although I love the idea of a relaxing bath.  I’ve had a number of exfoliants recently though so I’m not sure how soon I’m going to be able to try this one.

Wild About Beauty – Rose Water Illuminating SerumIlluminating Serum

This one made it into my work bag, which is always a good sign.  I was expecting to have to squeeze the pretty tube but there’s a pump at the end – is this the best of both worlds?  The serum is off-white with an iridescent pink sheen to it which is slightly hypnotic.  The light formula blurs fine lines, almost like a primer, but feels just slightly tacky on my skin; not a problem under makeup but slightly disconcerting when I test it on the back of my hand.

Silver EyelinerCynthia Rowley – Eyeliner in silver

I’ve seen quite a few posts recently about paler eyeliners so was delighted to see this in my box.  A basic application on my upper lid put a twinkle in my eye, so I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can do with this.

It’s a bit of a mixed bag for February.  As I’ve seen other people comment, there doesn’t seem to be any theme running through this box; it’s all a little random.  I’ve also noticed that, where issues raised with Birchbox on Instagram have been answered promptly in previous months, there’s a lack of response to comments this month.

With other subscription services vying for my business (I adore My Little Box and seem to have subscribed to Glossybox – look for their reviews over the next week) I’m not sure how long I’m going to continue with Birchbox.

What do you think of my box this month?  Do you receive Birchbox too?  What did you get?  What did you think of the Oats?

Love,
Jen

Hi guys, I'd love to hear from you. Let me know what's on your mind.

